Monday, March 18, 2013

Lynn Cullen, Ann Hite, Amanda Kyle Williams Reading & Signing!

(click to play audio of the reading)

2013 Georgia Women's Conference

Please join The Chattahoochee Review and the GPC Diversity Alliance this Friday, March 22 for the 2013 Georgia Women’s Conference. In keeping with the conference’s theme—The Female Perspective in Scholarship, Art, and PoliticsThe Chattahoochee Review will spotlight a variety of local women fiction writers, nonfiction writers, and poets.

From 10:45 a.m. to 12:15 p.m., the journal hosts The Chattahoochee Review Guest Author Series showcasing the renowned 2012 Townsend Prize for Fiction finalists Lynn Cullen (Reign of Madness), Ann Hite (Ghost on Black Mountain), and Amanda Kyle Williams (The Stranger You Seek). All three writers will read from their works and participate in a panel discussion about writing within their specific genres: historical fiction (Cullen), Southern/regional fiction (Hite), and mystery/detective fiction (Kyle Williams).

From 1:45 p.m. to 4:15 p.m., The Chattahoochee Review’s Women Writers Panel will feature seven writers from GPC’s faculty and the Atlanta literary scene. The featured panelists from GPC include Lita Hooper-Simanga, Associate Professor of English, whose collection of poems, Thunder in Her Voice: The Narrative of Sojourner Truth, was nominated for a Pushcart Prize; Louise McKinney, Assistant Professor of English, whose first volume of poems, The Woman Who Drank Her Own Reflection, was shortlisted, under a different title, for The Texas Review Press’ annual prize; Anna Schachner, Associate Professor of English and editor of The Chattahoochee Review, who has published many stories and received the Frank O'Connor Award for Fiction and the Southern Women Writers Emerging Fiction Writer award; and Lydia Ship, managing editor of The Chattahoochee Review and winner of the 2012 Matt Clark Prize in Fiction, whose short stories have been widely published and nominated four times for the Pushcart Prize.

The Atlanta writers include Amanda Gable, novelist and educator, whose first book, The Confederate General Rides North, was selected by the Georgia Center for the Book as 1 of 25 Books All Georgians Should Read and garnered her the 2010 Georgia Author of the Year Award; Beth Gylys, poet and Professor of English and Creative Writing at Georgia State University, whose collections of poetry, Spot in the Dark and Bodies that Hum, won the Gerald Cable Poetry Award and The Journal award in poetry presented by Ohio State University, respectively; and Kate Sweeney, radio producer and freelance writer, whose radio stories have won her a number of Associated Press Awards and two Edward R. Murrow Awards, and whose popular bimonthly nonfiction reading series, True Story, was voted a Best Literary Event of 2012 by Atlanta Magazine. Her book American Afterlife is forthcoming from The University of Georgia Press.

Both events hosted by The Chattahoochee Review at the Georgia Women’s Conference will take place in the JCLRC Auditorium (CL-1100/1001) on the Clarkston Campus and will be followed by book sales and signings.

 Registration fees for the 2013 Georgia Women’s Conference are as follows:
  • General Admission: $50 per person
  • Student Admission (with appropriate I.D. cards) $5 for GPC students; $15 for non-GPC students
For more information about the 2013 Georgia Women’s Conference, contact Professors Mike Hall ( and Carissa Gray (, and conference organizer, Tiffany Delvalle (
 The Chattahoochee Review Guest Author Series was created to connect the strong, vibrant, and diverse literary community The Chattahoochee Review has built over the course of its 33-year publishing history to the college’s EDGE Quality Enhancement Plan such that students will have a greater opportunity to engage with real-world writers who can better shape their writing and understanding of literature in all of its forms.

Monday, March 11, 2013

Natasha Trethewey chooses TCR for Library of Congress!

From an article by Beverly James for GPC's In the Loop:

The Chattahoochee Review, Georgia Perimeter College’s literary magazine, is now available at the Library of Congress in Washington D.C.

According to the magazine’s editor, Anna Schachner, a request came from the current U.S. Poet Laureate Natasha Tretheway for copies of The Chattahoochee Review to feature in her office at the Library of Congress. “It is one of her favorite literary journals, and Natasha wanted copies to distribute to guests that she receives in her office,” Schachner explains. Tretheway is a resident of Decatur and has been a long-time supporter of Georgia Perimeter’s literary endeavors.

“Having our journal in the Library of Congress is an honor–and a milestone–for The Chattahoochee Review,” said Schachner. “Our editorial staff is so excited and proud to see our journal getting out there in the world and gathering accolades along the way. The Review is indeed growing and growing.”

The Chattahoochee Review has appeared regularly since 1981 and has expanded its focus to include both international readers and writers.

Monday, March 4, 2013

Saturday at AWP 2013, Boston!

Please join us at our AWP panel, "'Because That's the Way It's Always Been Done': When Literary Journals Face Necessary Change."

Overview: Literary journals must respond to changing readerships, budgetary constraints, evolving aesthetics, and limited staffing resources. The Chattahoochee Review, The Missouri Review, the Southern Review, and West Branch editors will address achieved results through editorial restructuring, website redesign, press partnerships, increased print and online content, social media outreach, and digital formatting.

Date: Saturday, March 9
Time: 4:30 p.m. to 5:45 p.m.
Location: Room 207, Hynes Convention Center

We hope to see you there!

2013 Lamar York Prize Winners and Finalists

Thank you to all entrants in the Lamar York Prizes for Fiction and Nonfiction for sending us great work and for making our prizes a success. On the task of selecting favorites (always subjective, of course), we were honored to consider so many fine submissions and to hand our judges such a gratifying challenge. We encourage all of our entrants to keep writing, and to keep reading literary journals like ours. All entrants receive a subscription, and we hope they are encouraged by their fellow writers.

2013 Lamar York Prize Winners and Finalists

Winner in Nonfiction

“Coyote,” Ming Holden

Winner in Fiction
“Bodega,” Amina Gautier

Finalists in Nonfiction
“Söyleyelim,” Delaney Nolan
“Netting the Air,” Ron Tanner
“An Appearance of. . . Noctiluca,” Jeffrey DeLotto
“Sudden Death: A Eulogy,” Jacob Appel
“Tableland,” by Jeffrey Schneider
“Father-Daughter Dance,” Sue Lick

Finalists in Fiction
“Winnemucca,” Ron Tanner
“Patience, Jackass,” Frank Soos
“The Tourists,” Gregory Brown
“The Rat,” Kathleen Spivack
“The Eel,” Jill Koenigsdorf